Corporate Governance

Risk Control

The Board is responsible for the Group's system of risk management and internal controls and its effectiveness. Such a system is designed to prudently manage the Group's risks within an acceptable risk profile. The Board has delegated to management the implementation of such system of risk management and internal controls as well as the review of relevant financial, operational and compliance controls and risk management procedures.

The management under the supervision of the Board has established an on-going process for identifying, evaluating and managing the significant risks faced by the Group and this process includes updating the system of risk management and internal controls when there are changes to business environment or regulatory guidelines.

The management assists the Board with the implementation of all relevant policies and procedures on risk and control by identifying and assessing the risk faced and designing, operating and monitoring suitable internal controls to mitigate and control these risks. The key processes that have been established in reviewing the adequacy and integrity of the system of risk management and internal controls include the following:

A defined management structure is maintained with specified limits of authority and control responsibilities, which is designed to (a) safeguard assets from inappropriate use; (b) maintain proper accounts; (c) ensure compliance with regulations; and (d) identify, manage and mitigate key risks to the Group.

The Audit Committee, inter alia, reviews the financial controls, risk management and internal controls systems of the Group and any significant internal control issues identified by the internal audit department, external auditors and management. It also conducts review of the internal audit functions with particular emphasis on the scope and quality of the internal audits and independence of the internal audit department. During its annual review, the Audit Committee also considers the adequacy of resources, qualifications and experience of staff of the Group's accounting and financial reporting function, and their training programmes and budgets.

The internal audit department monitors compliance with policies and procedures and the effectiveness of the risk management and internal control system and highlights significant findings in respect of any non-compliance. It plays an important role in the Group's internal control framework, and provides objective assurance to the Board that a sound internal control system is maintained and operated in compliance with the established processes and standards by performing periodic checking. The internal audit department issues reports to the Board and relevant management covering various operational and financial processes of the Group and provides summary reports to the Audit Committee together with the status of implementation of their recommendation in each Audit Committee meeting.

The Board is satisfied that the internal control system in place covering all material controls including financial, operational and compliance controls and risk management functions is reasonably effective and adequate.

企業管治

內部監控

董事會負責本集團風險管理及內部監控系統及其有效性,該系統的設計為於可接受的風險範圍內謹慎地管理本集團的風險。董事會授權管理層推行上述風險管理及內部監控系統,並檢討有關財務、營運及合規監控和風險管理程序。

管理層在董事會的監督下,已確立持續的程序,以確定、評估及管理本集團所面對的重大風險,程序包括當營商環境或規例指引變更時,更新風險管理及內部監控系統。

管理層協助董事會推行所有相關的風險及監控政策及措施,確定及評估所面對的風險,並設計、運作及監察合適的內部監控措施,以減少及控制此等風險。本集團已確立主要程序以審閱風險管理及內部監控系統的足夠性及完整性,該等程序包括:

維持一個權限及監控責任明確界定的清晰管理架構,以(a)保管資產以防不正確使用;(b)保存適當的會計記錄;(c)確保符合相關法例;及(d)確認、管理及減少本集團主要風險。

審核委員會亦審閱本集團的財務監控、風險管理及內部監控系統及由內部稽核部、外聘核數師及管理層所識別的任何重大內部監控事項;並同時檢討內部審核的功能,特別著重審核的範圍、內部審核的質素及內部稽核部的獨立性。於年度檢討中,審核委員會並考慮本集團在會計及財務匯報職能方面的資源、員工資歷及經驗是否足夠,以及員工所接受的培訓課程及有關預算是否充足。

內部稽核部監察政策及程序的遵從、風險管理及內部監控系統的有效性,及指出任何不遵守事項的重大發現。內部稽核部為本集團內部監控架構重要的一環,透過定期審查,向董事會提供客觀保證,以確保依循既定的程序及標準維持及運作健全的內部監控系統。內部稽核部向董事會及有關管理層提交涉及本集團各種經營和財務程序的報告,並向審核委員會提交摘要報告,及於每次的審核委員會會議上匯報其建議的執行情況。

董事會信納現存的內部監控系統涵蓋所有重大監控,包括財務、經營及合規監控以及風險管理功能,屬合理地有效及足夠。